Teen Driving Laws
WHAT LAWS APPLY TO LICENSED DRIVERS UNDER AGE 18?
Graduated Driver License (GDL) is a group of laws allowing beginning drivers to build driving experience before they are exposed to higher risk roadway situations.
GDL NIGHT RESTRICTIONS
A person younger than 17 years cannot drive a motor vehicle in Utah between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. except in emergencies.
GDL PASSENGER RESTRICTIONS
A 16- or 17-year-old driver may not operate a motor vehicle in Utah with any passenger who is not an immediate family member until six months from the date the person's driver license was issued.
CAN I DRIVE A FRIEND AROUND IF I'VE HAD MY LICENSE FOR LESS THAN SIX MONTHS?
No, unless the passengers are immediate family members, it is against the law to drive with others in the car for the first six months of having been issued a driver license. Around 90 percent of teen crashes happen the first months teens have a driver license. Of those killed, a little more than half are the drivers and the rest are passengers.